Skip to main content
European Health and Digital Executive Agency (HaDEA)
Novice15. maj 2023Evropska izvajalska agencija za zdravje in digitalno tehnologijo

The Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information - how CEF Telecom contributed to the digitalisation of social security

Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information

The Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information (EESSI) is a platform that connects national social security institutions to exchange information related to 8 branches of social security coordination. This enables them to fulfil their obligations under the EU Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and No. 987/2009 for the coordination of social security systems.

Citizens and businesses: Quicker and more efficient processing of social security benefits – Institutions: More correct and complete data, Combating fraud and error, More efficient implementation of social security coordination rules

To facilitate this coordination, two calls of the CEF Telecom programme supported 33 projects with €33.6 million to integrate EESSI components (e.g., access points and national applications) into the national IT systems of 26 EU countries1, one EEA country,2 and one non-EU country3, providing interoperability and communication.

Examples of exchanges: Pensions,  pre-retirement, and invalidity benefits – Sickness, maternity,  and equivalent  paternity benefits - Benefits for  work accidents and occupational diseases - Survivors’ benefits and death grants - Family benefits - Unemployment benefits

EESSI strengthens protection of EU citizens’ social security rights by allowing social security institutions to process their claims for social security benefits across borders in a rapid and secure way. This ensures that EU citizens who are moving, working, or travelling to another EU country can benefit from a better protection of their social security rights through a faster management of their applications and faster calculation and payment of their benefits.


1 Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

2 Iceland

3 United Kingdom

Useful links 

Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information (EESSI) - Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion - European Commission (


Več informacij

Programme Sector
Connecting Europe Facility 1Connecting Europe Facility 2
Digital technologyDigital transformationEU financingEUFundedInnovation