Skip to main content
European Health and Digital Executive Agency (HaDEA)
News article9 November 2023European Health and Digital Executive Agency1 min read

10th .eu Web Awards 2023 – HaDEA-managed project AfriConEU winner of the "The Laurels" category

The 10th edition and the ceremony will take place in Brussels at Maison du Bois on 16 November at 13.30.

The .eu Web Awards is an online competition, launched in 2014 by EURid and open to all .eu websites, be they an established national business, a start-up, a green initiative promoter, an educational institution, or an entertainment blog.

AfriconEU, one of HaDEA’s Horizon 2020 projects, was the winner of the The Laurels category, which gathers websites that represent educational institutions, charitable organisations, and pan European projects. The ceremony will take place in Brussels at Maison du Bois on 16 November 2023. 

The project 

AfriconEU’s objective is to expand and reinforce the digital innovation ecosystems in Africa, connecting Digital Innovation Hubs (DIHs) from Nigeria, Uganda, Ghana, and Tanzania to European DIHs. It developed the first Networking Academy that helps to strengthen local DIHs. It supports the creation of collective projects to boost the digital economy, empowering youth, and women, and fostering innovation and growth.


Horizon 2020 was the EU’s multiannual funding programme between 2014 and 2020. H2020 provided Research and Innovation (R&I) funding for multi-national collaboration projects alongside individual researchers and SMEs via special funding instruments. Horizon 2020 is being continued by the Horizon Europe Programme, which will run until 2027.

Since 2014, the .eu Web Awards has been giving prizes to flagship websites but also assist them in going a step further. After the categories are prepared and once the nomination period ends, three websites per category are shortlisted according to the number of nominations they receive.

The three finalists from each of the five categories are published on the EURid website. The final nominees are evaluated by a jury of representatives from various European stakeholders who select the winners based on the evaluation criteria outlined in the awards rules.


Publication date
9 November 2023
European Health and Digital Executive Agency
Programme Sector
  • Digital
  • Horizon Europe Cluster 4: Digital
  • Digital technology
  • Digital transformation
  • EUFunded
  • Event